Arvig is ready for internet and power disruptions. You can be prepared, too!

The national energy system is made up of three independent power grids—the Western Interconnection, the Eastern Interconnection and the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) Interconnection.

Each grid is overseen by separate management authorities, each of which is federally mandated to ensure a reliable power supply, adequate infrastructure for energy generation and fair rates for its utility-company partners and their customers.

Most of Minnesota is part of the Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO), which manages the grid in 15 states—mostly in the central U.S.—running roughly from Minnesota to Louisiana. A small portion of western Minnesota, which includes Moorhead, is part of the Southwest Power Pool, (SPP) a separate management operation which oversees 14 mostly Midwestern states.

Updated: Jun 23, 2022